Posted by: truckersjournal | December 30, 2008

Monday:

This is day three of DriveSavers’ 5 to 7 day turnaround time. Some progress has been made, but they cannot give a “yes” or “no” answer on full recovery.

That’s the latest update on JS Twitter site.  Not exactly great news, but still a glimmer of hope can be found there.   Personally,  I wouldn’t care if the pics were all gone like a lot of people lost last time (though there are definitely blogs where pics are the main theme and for that blog, it would be a great loss) – I just want all my “words” back.  I’ve prepared myself for the possibility that I won’t be getting all my words back – or even any of them.  I just am finding that I don’t like this place or LiveJournal and I doubt the personality of  JS will ever be found anywhere else.  I’m talking as though it’s already gone – well it’s a distinct possibility.   

Perhaps for me is just the need to have a personalized blog as Westy made for me in designing the last JS design for my site.  I think I could get into this a little easier if I had that back.    It’s also a little disconcerting that there are still many JS’ers that have literally disappeared.  And some who have resurfaced have not started another blog anywhere else and are saying very little on Dorries Forum.  Our little JS world going under has thrown us all out into the wild elements like outcasts from a pack of wolves.  Some are attempting to make a come-back, others are not.  I’m afraid that some good people will just decide not to partake anymore if JS really does not come back at all.  That would be a loss.  

As for my status right now, I fell asleep as I knew I would and had to force myself out of bed.  Going to bed at 5:00pm is hardly helpful to getting a full night’s sleep.  I will be staying up a couple of more hours and then off to crash again.  In fact, it was a phone call on the that woke me up out of a rather deep slumber.  

I’m finding it difficult for some reason to write today, therefore, I’m hanging it up.

C’ya tomorrow.

ben


Responses

  1. I tended to use my blog as a filing cabinet because you could sort entries so well. I often went to it to check a recipe for example. I wanted to cook something and wasn’t sure if I had the recipe anywhere else. Yikes.

    I agree – I am starting to feel it is not going to come back. Meanwhile thanks for stopping by my new home. It is nice to see familiar names.

  2. I am hoping your journal does come back because you have probably poured more words into it than any other two bloggers.

    Remember that Bethany had been blogging for several years before you were there, and hers was one of the journals which never was recovered. She has resumed posting and we will carry on when JS does return, if it does, regardless of whether or not our historical entries are intact.

    I hope you will too, and if so it is likely that there will indeed be a return of the community which we both have enjoyed. Meanwhile, I would suggest you periodically save your writing to a CD or external hard drive or someplace safe.

    I am still pretty uncertain if we will ever see the three thousand five hundred PMs we sent back and forth.

  3. I’m afraid JS is toast. I personally don’t care if my past posts are gone as I never go back and re-read any of them anyway. But so many people have scattered elsewhere out of disgust I don’t know if JS would be the same even if it did come back. And if it does come back, how long will it be before it crashes again? 3 months? 6 months? Dylan (?) is just in way over his head. I still say he should sell his itsy-bitsy company to someone who can make it work.

    As Arnold once said, “I’ll be back.” 😉

    S

  4. Hi Joan:
    Your blog is certainly unique, and judging from the daily stats of “who’s who” and yours always being in the top 10 – obviously people like the pics and the charisma of your place. Yes, it is good to see some familiar names popping up here and there.

    Fin:
    I remember Bethany losing all of those pics, I think was the issue and most or all of it never recovered. In that crash, I lost all the comments that went with the entries. That was a loss, definitely as I enjoy reading (most) comments, but at least everything I had written was still there. I will definitely go back to JS if it does come back up, if not, I’m here, I have my LiveJournal place as a backup, and I’ll leave it to Dorrie to figure out what’s the best host for blogging and migrate there. I have already opened up (but haven’t written anything) in quite a number of them at this point just to have it available. Losing all of those PM’s with BG certainly would suck. As far as backup, right now I am posting my entries on 2 sites and thinking about a third. IF JS actually came back, and my journal were somehow intact, my first order of business would be a trip to Fry’s electronics for those CD’s you have to use to burn and I would be saving every entry.

    Scott:
    I really believe that for those that are disugsted with JS – if it did come back – that they would probably come back as well if enough of us just started posting there again, anyway. Certainly, one can simply expect the site to crash from this point forth and therefor act accordingly. Even if all of my entries were lost – if JS came back I would just start over – and do some things differently obviously.
    It’s this waiting game that’s gettting to me, this has gone on for some time now and there still is no definitive answer.
    Ben

  5. Hi Ben,
    Yes, you are one of the JS bloggers who writes alot of words!
    I hope they are’nt all lost.
    I finally learned how to comment here, lol.
    Hope you come over and visit me 🙂
    *sighs* even ‘me’ I’m starting to think JS is burnt toast.
    Me, with all the Hope, is starting to wander in my thinking about JS.
    ~Judy aka, Sunny!

  6. It’s the faves that haven’t gone to Westy’s forum, or haven’t found a temporary home, that I miss so much. I am glad that you and a handful of others are around, or else I’d be really lonely!

  7. Yeah, I’m missing several people that visited my blog daily and I theirs. Undoubtedly there are people that are just plain disgusted with JS and – there’s not a thing any of us can do about it.
    BenB tapping his foot on the floor, waiting very impatiently……..


Leave a comment

Categories