Posted by: truckersjournal | December 31, 2008

Tuesday/How Long?

Another exasperatingly long day at work.  We had some stuff to do, but it was pretty slow overall.  The boss has decided that tomorrow I’m the only worker showing up – the other 2 will either show up on Friday or not show up at all.   I’m not exactly sure how well that set with the other 2.  I didn’t ask to work tomorrow – I did ask to not work Friday.  The company is not giving out paid days off for the now-mandatory days off except of course for New Years.

The point being, maybe they WANTED to work tomorrow – I know both of them are either out or almost out of vacation hours.  They’ve exhausted the rest of their hours.  I would’ve gladly taken tomorrow off and Friday – again, I don’t really know. 

The “How Long” part of today’s entry title is simply that: HOW much longer is it going to be before we find out a definitive answer about JS?  JS has been down at least 11 days now, I could figure it out but I don’t feel like it.  It’s been down long enough is the point.  Today would be day 4 of DriveSavers 5 to 7 day turnaround time – at least according to Tweeiiiiitttttter.  I’m just getting annoyed with all of this.  Some “closure” – a yeah or a nay – would be very helpful at this point, and I KNOW I’m not the only one feeling this way.

So, coming home, and walking into my house, I find blood everywhere.   The dogs.  Sure enough, Prince got into that fence mess again – this time pushing over a 4 foot high fence to get at his “prey” the dog next door that he can’t get at, anyway.  The blood was all over outside, inside.  On the carpet, the tile and the concrete.  This sent me into a flurry of action.  First, I re-dressed Prince’s tail wound, then I threw them ALL out.  Got out Mary’s carpet cleaning machine and cleaned up all the blood. 

Then I went out side and decided I would put up that chain link fencing I got this weekend without the poles I need.  A temporary setup is better than NO setup.  I started banging sections of the top rail into the ground, intending to use that as the end and center posts.  I then attached the chain link to the chain link fencing of my neighbors behind me.  After that, I pulled the fencing around the post I had put up on the other side, very tightly, and then attached it to that post.  I then banged a post into the center of the fencing and then finished my attachment of everything. 

After that, I propped the 2 gates I got with all that fencing up against the areas between the posts.  The dogs have just been pushing over the other fencing and trampling it.  Chain link is much stronger than that other fencing, and with proper support, it WILL hold against dogs and whatever else pushing against it.  I don’t have such luxury today, I did the best I could.  I put the fence FAR away from the property line chain link fence.  If they can’t get too close to that dog over there, I am hoping that won’t get quite as agitated since they can’t get right up next to the fence to growl, bark and whatever else. 

I have done what I can for the moment.  I have found used poles for cheap, I just have to get them over here.  The seller is only 5 miles away. 

I can only hope that the setup I just put in – which is very sturdy btw, it’s not some flimsy deal – is enough to keep them away from there.  I KNOW that when I get the fence set up the way it’s supposed to be – with poles cemented into the ground and a top rail to keep them from pushing it over – the ONLY way they are getting over there is if they jump it.  If those dogs are jumping a 4 foot high fence – I will put in a SIX foot tall fence.  I don’t WANT to put in a fence that tall, but I will if I have to. 

That’s today’s events.  Some of my plants received very minor damage from the freeze – and that because the material I was covering the plants with was touching the leaves.  I will do what I can do at this point. 

I will say this: if my dad does give me more money this coming New Year, the first thing that’s going to happen is for Duke to get neutered.  The second thing to happen is rock for the back yard. 

OH, I forgot.  I talked to my friend whose daughter works at a Fry’s food store in Tucson.  She had given him information to give me about how to get hired at Fry’s.  Go INTO the store and sit down at the application computer kiosk.  Dress nicely.  Carry a folder in with you with papers in it.  Pull the papers out and at least appear to be getting info from it – no problem there, I have my entire work history on paper and I use that to fill out the work history field. 

Do not look around.  Be very focused on filling out the application.  Something I would have never thought of – Fry’s has cameras everywhere, including on that kiosk.  Management watches or reviews the tape of a potential applicant and sees how they’re acting during the application process.  If the person is looking around all the time, they take that as a sign of a “wanderer”  – a person that can’t focus on the job at hand.  Go to the manager after you have filled out the application, introduce yourself and let them know you are interested in working there and that you just filled out an application.

I can do all of that.  And I WILL do all of that – but probably next week.  I have too much other stuff going on right now to deal with that, and I would hate to be down in Sierra Vista at my dad’s when they might call and say they want to do an interview.  I want to be ready at a moment’s notice to be there if they do call. 

Good advice – her daughter is in management at Fry’s and that’s why she knows what they are looking for. 

There is always something going on, always.  I can hardly say I lead a boring life.  But sometimes, it is more like tedious – too much stuff to deal with and I would like to reduce the amount of some of it.  I would love to have only one tenant in here.  I”ll tell ya what, I’m really getting tired of Mary’s pushiness.  I don’t bow to it, but she admittedly is a pushy, over-bearing person that wants things her way.  She just could NOT see that what she did the other day was just plain WRONG.  Banging on my son’s door at 4:30 am and DEMANDING that he go out, get on the computer and get the phone working again?  OUTRAGEOUS.  I was very calm with Mary when I talked to her, but I was very FIRM as well:  What you did was TOTALLY inappropriate, do NOT do it again.  She kept interrupting and I said the same words at least 4 times to her.  She got up and walked to her room.  Mary is a handful, is what I can say about her.  Since that interaction, though, she is not talking to me except to say hello on the way in and the way out. 

I have raised my son to be a very respectful person, but I am going to give him a waiver on this one.  If she starts that s*** with him again, I’m giving him permission to tell her no, and if she starts making demands, I want him to deal with it the way he wanted to in the first place.  I have already told him that if she DOES do anything like this ever again, come get me out of bed immediately.  I just am not going to tolerate tenants messing with my son, period.  I left Mary with crystal clarity that bothering, annoying, abusing my son like that again will not be tolerated.  Put it another way – if she does it again, I’m going to evict her. 

Anyway, that’s it for today.  The dogs are banished to the great outdoors – and will be out there until I go to bed, which is in 4 HOURS from now. 

I’ll c’yall later – I’m going to visit the journals I know that exist and then start doing some research online.

ben


Responses

  1. Wow, Ben! You are one busy guy! I hope the fencing you put up helps solve the dog problems.

    I, too, am standing here, impatiently tapping my foot, waiting for the return of JS. At this point, I don’t care about my pictures or anything. Just get the community back up.

    Have a fine evening!

  2. You have twice written you will evict Mary if she bothers your son again.

    Did you tell HER that?

  3. Umm, I’m guessing the first respondant is Shannon – if so (or whoever it is), thanks for stopping by! I have been fighting this dog problem for a while now – I think I have a done-deal, the dogs tell me different.
    Yes, get the thing going again, PLEASE.
    Have a great evening, too!

    I don’t remember writing that before. I can’t remember her bothering my son like that before, do you remember what it was, cause’ it totally escapes me. Yes, I have told her if she doesn’t like it, she can leave and find greener pastures somewhere else. Guaranteed I WON’T be forgetting THIS particular incident, especially after the situation was supported by the other tenant, who called her actions outrageous.


Leave a comment

Categories