Posted by: truckersjournal | December 29, 2008

Sunday

Final day of the 5 days off.

Not really a bummer considering I”m only working 3 days this coming week and then off another 4.  The only real drag at work this time of year is that it’s usually REALLY slow and there’s not a lot to do.  3 days of nothing to do isn’t much fun.  The boss is having us do some inventory projects around – but that’s almost finished already.  We do have a lot of stuff, but it doesn’t really take that long to count everything when that’s all you’re doing.  It’s amazing how far off certain counts are – that which the computer says we have versus that which we went out and counted. 

Anyway, I only have to do some laundry and some vacuuming today, maybe the kitchen floor and that’s it for cleaning duties.

Which is fine, because I have gotten very lazy in the last several days of doing nothing and will be happy to continue to – do nothing.   If there’s a movie on, if there’s the internet – then I don’t get bored.  There are plenty of things to do outside, but – besides getting the covers off all the plants, I ain’t doing none of it.  The mad dash to Christmas is over, and I’m just takin’ it easy for a while.

It’s cold again – low 30’s right now.  The sun is coming up so I”m going out shortly and uncovering the plants so they can take in the suns heating rays of energy and hopefully survived another night of freezing cold temps. 

My mind right now is on future projects that need to be done.  The biggest project left to go around here are having awnings installed.  I have seen some used awning advertised here and there for pretty good prices – but of course, you have to have money to actually be able to spend anything on such things.   

Anyway, first thing I did this morning was look out the window, and sure enough, there was a hummingbird there.  I think I’m gonna take the perch off the thing, part of the allure of watching hummingbirds feed is to see the hovering there with wings flying a million quadrillion zillion flaps per second.  Let them go perch wherever they stay for the night, as for eating at the BenB’s Hummingbird Eatery – they’ll be doing it old-style. 

Umm, gonna finish this later, I want to go out and get those covers off.  Sure enough, a pretty good frost covering the ground/sheets/blankets/what have you. 

Okee dokee.  I just “caught” 2 hummingbirds at the feeder.  The swooped down on it at the same time and then took off at the same time!  I also walked out there – through the door to catch one feeding.  It didn’t take off!  I just stood there watching it.  It wasn’t perching – it was a little nervous I think with me standing there, so it was doing the hovering thing while still take little nips into the feeder. 

Yesterday, I had to break down and take Prince to the vet.  His tail was starting to get that gross smell that comes when infection is setting in.  Took him in there, showed what’s going on, said I was bandaging it regularly, but – it’s taking longer to heal since it’s a pretty good wound on a place where the wound is going to get battered to death.  I am keeping that thing well padded with bandaging.  Thank God for 99 cent stores – you can buy all that stuff there MUCH cheaper than at any other place.  A 3 pack of gauge – 99 cents.  At a regular store – 4 or 5 bucks.  Anyway, they did a checkup on him – he’s a health doggie at 125 pounds – gave me a 2 weeks supply of antibiotics, which is the reason I went there in the first place, and that was it.  I didn’t ask them to rebandage it and they didn’t offer.  That would have been and other – whatever – $30 or more bucks I’m sure.  The vet said I was doing a good job of managing the wound.  Can you imagine that for this dog, a 2 weeks supply of antibiotics is literally 84 GIANT pills?!!!!  The vet said THREE of those pills every 12 hours.  Last night he threw up on them.  Today he has held it in.  I got out of there as cheap as I possibly could.  I eve was able to make an appointment for 5:00pm on a Saturday – saving me the extra $30 for an emergency walk-in visit. 

As with the awning, another big priority on my list of things to get done is to get these Danes neutered. 

Anyway, I do have a few cleaning projects now that I think about it that I would like to get done.  Also, later on, I”m meeting a person at a 7-11 (convenience store) to get a free TV for the new tenant.  I put an ad in Craigslist for a TV for the tenant.  Literally, that’s how I worded the ad.  I also said that if someone was willing to give one, please don’t have a cow when you see a late model, full size car pulling up to get the TV, it’s not for ME, it’s for this tenant. 

This person understood and is giving a 19 inch color TV for free.  Hey, there are still giving people out there.  The only thing I stand to gain from this is having this guy spend more quality time alone, in his bedroom instead of out here, attempting to control what’s going to be watched on TV and also really spending a wee bit more time than I’m comfortable with concerning the boys.

Michael is back.   I’m assuming he’ll leave later on today to spend the week at his family’s.  This apparently is the new routine.  I dunno, it’s only been one week.  Time will tell.

Really, this is quite amazing.  Must be a male/female cause those 2 hummingbirds are back.  They are flying together everywhere.  When those 2 left another one came by itself.  So – I don’t know if that’s one of the pair or another one entirely.  Hard to tell, they are all green and I haven’t seen any different colored birds – black hummingbirds are allegedly populated in this area as well.

Anyway, I’m off to fix some breakfast, get some things done and then just relax.

Happy Sunday!

ben


Responses

  1. That’s nice of you to get a TV for your tenant, even if it does help you guys out. I’ve thought of renting out a room in the past (we used to do it all the time when Dale was alive) but it always caused discord and I don’t want any now that the house is peaceful. I guess that’s why I took a second job!

  2. Hi Kate:
    Well, I have been looking for a second job, slim pickins out there, not much available and too many people applying for one, single job. In fact, I have all but given up on it as I have filled out dozens and dozens of apps and only had on reply from the Phoenix Zoo to be a concessions worker making $6.90 per hour.
    That would take me back to my dishwashing days in restaurants when I was a teenager – I decided against that.
    You’re right that having tenants definitely can pose some interesing problems in terms of the peace and fluidity of your household – meaning that things can get out of whack and your normal routines can be totally ruined.
    I am learning as I continue to have different people in here as to what I must ask of people and what I expect of them before they move in here, and that it is agreed to.
    But – there is always some kind of problem, doesn’t matter how much forethought and conversation you might have with a particular person.
    I have no choice in the matter for now – as for problems, I nip them in the bud, or try to, anyway. Getting this guy out of my living room by getting him a TV is my answer to that dilemna. Once in a while would be great, every friggin’ day, another story entirely.

  3. I agree with you! My best friend rented from us, and I was thankful she set up her room like a bachelor suite. TV, couch, bed. She didn’t have to come upstairs unless she wanted to, or we invited her.


Leave a comment

Categories