Posted by: truckersjournal | December 27, 2008

Friday

As is my want, I frequently scour Craigslist for deals on things that – are too good to pass up.  They come here and there.  Last night – I ran into one of those deals which has set off a series of things to do today.

I have been lo0king for chain link fencing to have my dog-free zone on the east side of the house.  Lots of it advertised on CL, but not at great prices.  I mean, it’s probably worth what they’re asking, I just ain’t paying that.  I figure someone to come along sooner or later with a too-good-to-pass-up-deal and that would be the end of that.

Sure enough: 100 feet of 4 foot tall chain link fencing, posts, top rail and all the stuff to hook it up with for $25 for everything!  Are you serious?  Unbelievable!  Don’t even think about getting on my case for “wasting” $25!!! Seriously!!! 

So, pretty quick here, I’m headed out to the Chandler branch to get the truck (already called and asked the boss for permission, who had no problem with it), head out east to get the stuff, bring it back here and then back to Chandler.  The last time I did this was to get all of those plants.  This will not be NEAR as time consuming – oh and I forgot, this deal comes with TWO gates!!   — to save, let’s see here, those gates are at least $50 at Home Depot a piece, 50 feet of chain link is like $40, double that – so there’s $180 right there, plus the posts, the top rail and all the little attachment stuff?  C’mon, folks, do the savings math! 

Honestly?  I had no desire to do anything today, either.  The motivation is that I was at Home Depot the other day looking at pricing for fencing and already knew ballpark what it was going to cost me.   I got this gift card for Home Depot for Christmas, now I can spend it on other things.  That would include a wireless doorbell.  People come to the front of my house and stand there in wonder, attempting to figure out how they are going to get anyone’s attention inside the house since there is no front door out – front. 

The other thing I could do with that card, though, is get a ceiling fan for my bedroom.

Of course, there are always a lot of cleaning supplies and such I could spend it on. 

In other words, I really haven’t decided what to do with it, yet – oh the joy I could have in getting a shopping spree at the Home Depot! 

I haven’t a lot of time here, must skidaddle.  I have to be there by 9:30 – it’s already ten after 8.  I just called them again to make sure that they still have it, as I don’t want to go through all this trouble and find out someone else called and they gave it to them, instead.  Sure enough, they still have it and they also have a waiting list of people  who want the stuff if I don’t show up.

Okay, with that said, I’m outta here!

C’ya – probably much – later!

Hope everyone had a Merry Christmas and now, we can start looking forward to a New Year (leaving this one behind certainly won’t hurt my feelings any!)!

ben


Leave a comment

Categories